i want to know cod liver oil is halal to eat for muslims or not
Some medicines and supplements (especially Cod Liver Oil) also use gelatine as part of their capsules. It can be permissible to use these, but ONLY if there are no suitable alternatives.
The gelatin used in the manufacturing of capsules and softgels has been derived from a Bovine (Cow) HALAL animal source and the product is also free from any TSE/BSE sources
best to check on the packaging and whereever you purchase it from
That was the morning ritual when I came downstairs in the morning. I'd stand over the kitchen register, letting the warm furnace air billow under my flannel nightgown. Mother would give me a tablespoon of that terrible tasting stuff, and hand me a small glass of freshly squeezed orange juice. It was always so good with the pulp added. And it washed away the nasty taste of the oil. I also had to take a spoonful of some blood building syrup that was also unpleasant. But I only had to take a teaspoon of that. In those days, we didn't have childrens' vitamins, so the cod fish oil was the best thing our mothers could buy. I didn't see childrens vitamins, until my sisters who were nine years younger, began to take the chewable type with the Flintstones figures. They never had to take Cod LIver Oil their entire life. Lucky them!
the pure oil out of the bottle yes..fish is halal
Cod liver oil in not Halal if it not sold by certified halal companies. Every fish is not halal, until you would know that the fish you are eating it was caught by halal manors i.e if the live fish is caught and let is die it out side the water, that is considered Halal. How many profit making companies do not think about Halal or Haram (prohibited) in Islam) in the manors by separating from dead and alive fish. If the fish is dead in the water that is considered DEAD and dead fish is Haram ( eating dead body) to eat. I ate whole life without knowing the difference until I found the facts. Muslim should only eat fish from the Muslim countries. ( I got Fatwa from religious leader) Same thing with the Fish oil or Cod liver oil is derived from the fish along with the dead should be considered not Halal. My insight developed after ordering the Cod Liver Oil ( not certified Halal).